James Yap to play for Team Barroca in Bacolod PBA All-Star

Posted by watchmen
February 28, 2024
Posted in SPORTS




Negrense James Yap of the Blackwater Bossing was selected by Team Barroca for the 2024 PBA All-Star Game to be played at the University of St. La Salle Gym in Bacolod City on March 25.

Yap was the seventh pick of the squad to be captained by Magnolia Chicken Timplados Hotshots guard Andy Mark Barroca, and to be coached by San Miguel Beermen mentor Jorge Gallent.

This will be the 42-year-old Yap’s 18th consecutive PBA All-Star selection, and this will be extra special since it will be held near his hometown in Negros Occidental’s Escalante City.

Aside from Yap, also in the Team Barroca roster are June Mar Fajardo, Jason Perkins, Jaymar Perez, Robert Bolick Jr., Jiovani Jalalon, Ian Sangalang, Calvin Abueva, Jayson Castro, Gabe Norwood, Ricci Rivero, Clifford Hodge, Juami Tiongson, and Nard Pinto.

Meanwhile, the opposing Team Japeth of Japeth Aguilar is to be led by his Gin Kings teammates Christian Standhardinger, Jamie Malonzo, Earl Scottie Thompson, Maverick Ahanmisi, and Stanley Pringle.

Other members of Team Japeth, to be handled by Gin Kings mentor Tim Cone, are Paul Lee, Calvin Oftana, Chris Newsome, Celedonio Trollano, Marcio Lassiter, Arvin Tolentino, Tyler Tio, and Terrence Romeo.

Last year, Team Japeth emerged as the winner over Team Scottie, 140-136, in a game that was held at the City of Passi Arena in Iloilo Province.

Lee was named All-Star MVP with 32 points.

Meanwhile, Aklanon Keith Zaldivar is set to lead the Stalwarts All-Stars team, while Jerrick Ahanmisi will banner the Greats All-Star team in the Rookie/Sophomore/Juniors game.

Joining Zaldivar are Kyt Jimenez, John Amores, Stephen Holt, Keith Datu, Fran Yu, Adrian Nocum, Kim Aurin, John Michael Calma, Joshua Munzon, Anton Asistio, and Leonard Santillan. Team Stalwarts will be coached by Peter Martin.

Teaming with Ahanmisi are Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser, Javi Gomez de Liaño, Kenneth Tuffin, Justin Arana, Raphael Cu, Andrei Caracut, RK Ilagan, Alec Stockton, Gian Mamuyac, James Laput, and Shaun Ildefonso. Team Greats will be handled by Patrick Partoza./ASC, WDJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *