Local Gawad Saka winners recognized today

Posted by watchmen
November 11, 2019

The Department of Agriculture-Region VI will be recognizing this year’s local Gawad Saka winners during a ceremony at the Regatta Hotel in Iloilo City’s City Proper district. Gawad Saka is an annual activity of the Department of Agriculture that acknowledges farmers, fisherfolk, along with distinguished groups and individuals who have excelled and made significant contributions in the development of the agriculture and fishery sector.
This year’s winners include the Lezo Multi-purpose Cooperative of Aklan as outstanding national small farmer organization; Glicerio L. Caῆamo of Calatrava, Negros Occidental as outstanding sugarcane farmer; Rodolfo V. Lovino of Bago City, Negros Occidental as outstanding fisherfolk-fish capture; Reymund T. Sofio of Valladolid, Negros Occidental as outstanding rice farmer adopting integrated farming system; Feliciano C. Ricablanca of San Carlos City, Negros Occidental as outstanding high value crops farmer; Beneranda G. Fano of Dumalag, Capiz as outstanding corn farmer; Renato A. Catiempo of Bago City, Negros Occidental as outstanding organic agriculture farmer; and Ramie D. Araneta of Victorias City, Negros Occidental as outstanding young farmer.
In addition, the Aklan Provincial Agriculture and Fishery Council, Kalibo Municipal Agriculture and Fishery Council as outstanding MAFC, Patnongon Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Management Council will also be recognized for their achievements.
Individual Gawad Saka winners will each receive P50,000, a trophy, and plaque; while group winners will be awarded a P75,000 project grant, trophy, plaque, along with agricultural collateral and interventions.
Meanwhile, the department will also recognize regional rice and corn “achievers,” namely Rosalie M. Sapla from Antique, Fe M. Pollentes – Guimaras, Sanly B. Galvez – Iloilo, and Carlito P. Indencia – Negros Occidental will be awarded for their contributions to increasing rice yields and production; while Arlene P. delos Reyes of Antique and Engr. Lucio F. Gequillo of Capiz won corn achiever awards./WDJ


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *