UNegA established executive committees ahead of 2019 election

Posted by watchmen
August 26, 2017

By Dominique Gabriel G. Bañaga

Following a convention at the Nature’s Village Resort yesterday, the United Negros Alliance (UNegA) established executive committees in every Negros Occidental congressional district ahead of the 2019 elections.
According to Provincial Board Member Salvador Escalante, Jr., the executive committees will formulate guidelines and policies in the nomination of candidates for the 2019 elections, facilitate information dissemination of the guidelines and policies to members, screen and review nominations for the 2019 elections, and select preferred nominees and candidates for the 2019 elections.
He added, the candidacy for governor was offered to former Negros Occidental fourth district Rep. Jeffrey Ferrer, who unsuccessfully ran for vice governor in 2016.
Escalante had previously revealed he was Negros Occidental Governor Alfredo Marañon, Jr.’s selection for vice governor.
The board member said final candidates should be determined by December.
UNegA leader Marañon said the party is “stronger,” stating their goal is to “bring more progress and development” to the province.
Asked about his earlier pledge to support Negros Occidental third district Rep. Alfredo Benitez in his 2019 plans, which includes a possible gubernatorial run, he said it is a personal preference and not representative of the party.
Sagay City Mayor Alfredo Marañon III, the governor’s son, was chosen as executive committee chairperson, with Don Salvador Benedicto Mayor Lawrence Marxlen Dela Cruz to chair the first district, Negros Occidental second district Rep. Leo Rafael Cueva – second district, Board Member David Albert Lacson – third district, Negros Occidental fourth district Rep. Juliet Ferrer – fourth district, former Hinigaran Mayor Oscar Yulo – fifth district, and Provincial League of Councilors President Valentino Miguel Alonso – sixth district.
Around 213 members of the local party attended the event, including 15 mayors, nine provincial board members, and three congressmen./WDJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *