2020 AFC Cup

Posted by watchmen
March 19, 2020
Posted in SPORTS

Marañon named

all-time scoring leader

By Adrian Stewart Co

Bienvenido Marañon of Ceres-Negros FC was named the all-time scoring leader in the AFC Cup. The midfielder earned the title after scoring a total 35 goals following a brace against Bali United, the 2019 winners of Indonesia’s Liga 1, in their group stage match last week.
He overtook the 34 goals by Mahmoud Shelbaieh, who played for Jordanian Pro League club Al-Wehdat SC.
During the Bacolod City-based club’s match against the Indonesian side, Marañon successfully converted a penalty followed by a header off a corner by fellow midfielder Stephan Schröck
While the upcoming 2020 Philippines Football League was postponed and is tentatively scheduled to kick off on April 18, Ceres FC meets Bali United again on April 14 at the Kapten I Wayan Dipta Stadium in Bali./ASC, WDJ

Ceres-Negros FC midfielder Bienvenido Marañon was named the all-time scoring leader in the AFC Cup after scoring a brace against Bali United. (Mymy Alagaban photo)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *