GMA Network takes home Best TV Station, Best Radio Station honors at 16th Gawad Tanglaw Awards

Posted by watchmen
May 18, 2018

Leading broadcast company GMA Network emerged as the big winner at the 16th Gawad Tanglaw (Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw) after winning the major awards in the television and radio categories during the awarding ceremonies held last May 5 at the Cinematheque Theater in Manila.

GMA-7 was conferred the “Best TV Station” award while the Kapuso Network’s flagship AM station Super Radyo DZBB also proved to be top choice as this year’s “Best AM Station.”

The longest-running investigative program on Philippine TV, “Imbestigador,” won as “Best Investigative Program.” Documentary program “Front Row” took home the Best Public Affairs Program award while “Reporter’s Notebook” won as “Best Documentary Program.”

Meanwhile, the country’s first-ever reality sitcom on television, “Pepito Manaloto,” was awarded the “Best Comedy Show.”

GMA News TV’s flagship evening newscast “State of the Nation with Jessica Soho” triumphed as this year’s “Best News Program” while investigative news magazine program “Brigada” took home the “Best Documentary Program” award. Winning the “Best Magazine Show” is infotainment program “I Juander” while “Reel Time” also snagged the “Best Documentary Special Award” for its “Hawla” episode.

In the radio category, on top of the Best AM Station recognition, GMA Network’s flagship AM station Super Radyo DZBB took home another award via “IM Ready sa Dobol B” which won as the “Best Radio Public Service Program.”

Several Kapuso personalities were also honored by Gawad Tanglaw. Ivan Mayrina won as “Best TV Male Anchor” for “Unang Hirit” while Pia Arcangel was named as “Best TV Female Anchor” for “Saksi” and “24 Oras Weekend.”

Tina Panganiban-Perez earned the “Best Female Field Reporter” award while Steve Dailisan won as “Best Male Field Reporter.”

Veteran radio personality Jimmy Gil was conferred with the “Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw sa Sining ng Radyo” award.

Meanwhile, “The One that Got Away” actor Bembol Roco was given the “Presidential Jury Award for Acting Excellence.”

“Hindi Ko Kayang Iwan Ka” star Shamaine Buencamino received the “Best Supporting Actress” award for her performance in Paki. The Clash panelist Jay Oliver Durias was given the “Best Musical Scoring” award for “Respeto.”

One of GMA Network’s creative consultants, Arjay Nuevas, in turn, was conferred the “Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw sa Sining ng Panulat.”

Lastly, GMA News TV’s Winnie Monsod was conferred the “Best Newspaper Opinion Columnist (English)” for Philippine Daily Inquirer.

The Gawad Tanglaw Awards recognizes the best in the fields of film, television, radio, and print. The board was composed of professors from different universities as well as media practitioners. (PR)

Tina Panganiban is Best Female Field Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *